March 28, 2017, 12:44:14 PM

Author Topic: ModMerge  (Read 615 times)

Scott_AutumnSnow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
ModMerge
« on: June 20, 2016, 07:27:23 AM »
I have a mod in the workshop called Tech Unlocked.  It just sets all research to be complete at the start of the game.  I want to package it to be a merged/included mod.

I first published the mod as a standalone mod and it worked fine.  Then I changed it to be a merged mod and while you can add it as an included mod in game, it doesn't actually do anything, i.e. the effect of the mod is not occurring.

Here's how I have it:

Gnomoria/Steam Workshop/Tech Unlocked contains:
>>> Mod Files [folder]
>>> preview.png
>>> workshopitemid.ini

Gnomoria/Steam Workshop/Tech Unlocked/Mod Files contains:
>>> Included Mods [folder]

Gnomoria/Steam Workshop/Tech Unlocked/Mod Files/Included Mods contains:
>>>Tech Unlocked [folder]
>>>modmergeorder.ini

Gnomoria/Steam Workshop/Tech Unlocked/Mod Files/Included Mods/modmergeorder.ini contains:
Quote
_Base
Tech Unlocked

Gnomoria/Steam Workshop/Tech Unlocked/Mod Files/Included Mods/Tech Unlocked contains:
>>>Data [folder]
settings.ini

Gnomoria/Steam Workshop/Tech Unlocked/Mod Files/Included Mods/Tech Unlocked/settings.ini contains:
Quote
Name = Tech Unlocked
Description = Start the game with all research unlocked

Gnomoria/Steam Workshop/Tech Unlocked/Mod Files/Included Mods/Tech Unlocked/Data contains the modded file.



What am I doing wrong?

Tacyn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
    • View Profile
Re: ModMerge
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2016, 01:20:45 PM »
Your mod tries to change existing entries, which the game doesn't allow.
If you look at the log file of the mod it should tell you that it ignores the duplicate entries in your mod.

Scott_AutumnSnow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: ModMerge
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2016, 04:05:37 AM »
It seems that to publish a mod as includable (to merge it), you can't edit any existing data of the vanilla XML files.  You can only add new data.

Do I undertand correctly?

Tacyn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
    • View Profile
Re: ModMerge
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2016, 03:40:36 PM »
It seems that to publish a mod as includable (to merge it), you can't edit any existing data of the vanilla XML files.  You can only add new data.

Do I undertand correctly?

Yes.