April 23, 2014, 05:22:21 AM

Author Topic: Running game on Linux  (Read 7773 times)

TroYy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Running game on Linux
« on: August 10, 2012, 01:25:54 AM »
Hi there. Anyone tried succesfully run gnomoria on linux? Currently on Ubuntu 10.04 with wine 1.4 and .NET 4.0 it says
 
Error parsing
C:\windows\Microsoft.NET\v4.0.30319\config\machine.config
Parser returned error 0x80004001.

Any suggestions?

Thx.

ezryder914

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: Running game on Linux
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2012, 06:05:35 AM »
I haven't messed around with Mono, but it's supposed to be an open source version of .NET.  That might fix your problem, or give you a new one.  :)

More info here;

Mono Main Page
Some minds are like concrete,
all mixed up and permanently set.
   ---A Red Rose Tea Bag

roidal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Running game on Linux
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2012, 12:54:25 AM »
Are there now any positive tries on Linux?

ArwingXL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 402
  • Game Art Donator
    • View Profile
    • RADCORE.US
Re: Running game on Linux
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2012, 02:02:08 AM »
I'll give it a try in ubuntu 12. gnomoria uses the same stuff as terraria to run, so it shouldn't take long to get running.

Will post winetricks config once its working.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2012, 02:29:51 AM by ArwingXL »

roidal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Running game on Linux
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2012, 02:25:09 AM »
I'll give it a try in ubuntu 12. gnomoria uses the same stuff as terraria to run, so it shouldn't be that hard to get everything running through winetricks.

As I read it's programmed in C# with .NET? Does it start with mono? (I doesn't have a Linux-Computer (with GUI) now, so i can't test it)

ArwingXL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 402
  • Game Art Donator
    • View Profile
    • RADCORE.US
Re: Running game on Linux
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2012, 03:05:21 AM »
simply will not run in x64 linux. i would suggest you just make a microinstall of win7 on a portable hard drive if not another partition and use that to play the game or any other games that linux doesn't support.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2012, 03:22:11 AM by ArwingXL »

roidal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Running game on Linux
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2012, 03:21:57 AM »
simply will not run in x64 linux unless you use virtualbox, at which point, i would suggest you just make a microinstall of win7 on a portable hard drive and use that to play the game or any other games that linux doesn't support.

Interessting. Whats the problem on a x64-bit Linux? As i know there is 64-bit Mono too?

ArwingXL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 402
  • Game Art Donator
    • View Profile
    • RADCORE.US
Re: Running game on Linux
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2012, 03:27:16 AM »
It simply refuses to open. no errors or anything. users on the playonlinux forums have had the same issues. in 32-bit linux, you actually get error messages. (launched from a thumbdrive install)

I actually don't mind rebooting to windows just to game though.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2012, 03:30:04 AM by ArwingXL »

ARandomBob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Running game on Linux
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2012, 08:55:49 PM »
Any new info on this front. I would love to get this running. I'm on Linux Mint and it just refuses to launch.

Alxe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Onward, my noble Alpaca!
    • View Profile
Re: Running game on Linux
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2012, 11:48:09 PM »
I'm not on Linux, nor have been for a long time, but it would be awesome if RoboB0b gave "unofficial support" for those using Linux. Like trying to bugfix everything (Wine bitching) he can near the release candidates. Everyone has the rights to play regardless of platforms.

It's not like demanding to support MonoXNA, even if it would be nice. Linux actually has a good userbase, that doesn't mind to support like actual costumers and in need of some love.

EDIT: I messed up a word.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2012, 09:44:05 AM by Alxe »

Temeez

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
    • View Profile
    • IndieFansite
Re: Running game on Linux
« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2012, 09:31:17 AM »
Only reason I am still using windows is Gnomoria, I shall try to get Gnomoria working on Arch Linux. I shall report back.
Does your game crash? Use bugzilla and post your crash in there if its not already!
Location of Gnomoria crash log: \Documents\My Games\Gnomoria\gnomoria.log


Use imgur for image uploading! - Don't use ImageShack please :)

IRC Chat

roidal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Running game on Linux
« Reply #11 on: October 29, 2012, 09:41:56 AM »
Any new info on this front. I would love to get this running. I'm on Linux Mint and it just refuses to launch.

There is a new Mono-release available. So maybe someone is able to try it with that one.

bvierra

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
  • No matter where I am, you can find me there.
    • View Profile
    • Gnomoria Wiki
Re: Running game on Linux
« Reply #12 on: October 30, 2012, 01:41:48 AM »
I know R0b has talked about wanting to try MonoXNA to get linux/Mac support however I also know he has been really busy working on other aspects of the game :) I would assume that he still has this thought in the back of his mind and will one day make a try at it :)
Wiki | Bugzilla | Chat
Feature Requests | Bugs
The views expressed are my own and do not reflect the views of Robotronic Games unless specifically specified as such

Temeez

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
    • View Profile
    • IndieFansite
Re: Running game on Linux
« Reply #13 on: October 30, 2012, 11:39:21 AM »
#1) Unhandled Exception: System.TypeLoadException: Could not load type 'Game.GnomanEmpire' from assembly 'Gnomoria, Version=0.8.16.1, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null'.
[ERROR] FATAL UNHANDLED EXCEPTION: System.TypeLoadException: Could not load type 'Game.GnomanEmpire' from assembly 'Gnomoria, Version=0.8.16.1, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null'.

This is what I got. Wine 1.5.16, mono210, .NET 4. Rob can you make those errors go away?  :P

EDIT: Looks like that was 64bit prefix, got an actual error popup when tried with 32bit... See the (#2)) backtrace.

EDIT 2: If I run it with mono it gives error #1, with wine it gives error #2.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2012, 03:36:41 AM by Temeez »
Does your game crash? Use bugzilla and post your crash in there if its not already!
Location of Gnomoria crash log: \Documents\My Games\Gnomoria\gnomoria.log


Use imgur for image uploading! - Don't use ImageShack please :)

IRC Chat

roidal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Running game on Linux
« Reply #14 on: November 02, 2012, 02:54:31 AM »
This is what I got. Wine 1.5.16, mono210, .NET 4. Rob can you make those errors go away?  :P

How does you start it? With wine or mono?